
What is the Citizens Rebate? 

The Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance Corporation Assessment is paid by property insurance 

policyholders each year. The dollar amount is for a bond issued by the Louisiana Citizens Corporation to 

cover the costs of damages caused by Hurricane Katrina. The assessment is partially refundable to you. 

Following the passage of Act No. 125 of the 2015 Legislative Session, 72 percent is refundable for 

assessments paid for 2013, 2014, and 2015 . Following the passage of Act No. 9 of the 2016 Second 

Extraordinary Legislative Session, 25 percent is refundable for assessments paid for 2016 and 2017.  

Who is eligible to claim a rebate? 

If you pay property insurance in Louisiana, you are eligible for a state rebate for the Louisiana Citizens 

assessment. That means if you’re a renter, homeowner or business owner and pay property 

insurance, you’re eligible. The rebate can be claimed for 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017, once you’ve 

paid your policy in full. But the option to claim the 2013 rebate will expire at the end of 2017.  

How do I know the amount of my rebate? 

Check your policy’s declaration page to see if the “Citizens Assessment” is listed as a charge. It may 

also be listed as “FAIR Plan Assessment.” The assessment was 2.93% of your premium in 2016.  

How do I get my rebate? 

The rebate can be claimed in one of three ways: 

1. Claim the rebate as a tax credit on your Louisiana Income Tax Return due each May. With this

option your rebate will be included in your total tax calculation. You can also file an amended

tax return to claim the rebate for past years.

2. Claim the rebate online through the Louisiana Department of Revenue's Online Filing and

Payments webpage www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline. You will need to create an account to

access the electronic form for claiming your Citizens rebate.

3. Claim the rebate by filling out a paper form. Fill out the one-page form and attach your

insurance declarations page. If you don’t have the declarations page, contact your insurance agent

who may be able to help you. Mail the completed form to the Louisiana Department of Revenue.

Forms for all calendar years are located on the Louisiana Department of Insurance and Louisiana

Department of Revenue websites.

And don’t forget: 

 Claim only the Citizens assessment, not the entire insurance premium amount.

 If you pay the Citizens assessment on more than one home or property, use the appropriate year’s

INS form along with the R-INS Supplement form to list additional properties.

 Visit the Louisiana Department of Insurance website www.ldi.la.gov for more information.

Louisiana Department of Insurance Phone toll-free: 1-800-259-5300 

James J. Donelon, Commissioner Website:  www.ldi.la.gov 
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