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Please be advised that Act 283 of the 2013 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (Act 283) amended La. R.S. 22:855(H) with respect to health and accident 
policies and enacted La. R.S 22:1568 relative to health insurance issuer (issuers) 
commission schedules and related matters. The purpose of Advisory Letter 2014-01 is 
to advise all issuers and health insurance producers regarding the enforcement of Act 
283 by the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI) and the effect of Act 283 on prior 
guidance issued by the LDI concerning producer compensation agreements between 
issuers, producers and policyholders. 

Applicability of Act 283 

The provisions of La. R.S. 22: 1568(A) are applicable to all major medical products 
sold in both the individual and group markets, but do not apply to any employee welfare 
benefit plans exclusively regulated by the United States Department of Labor. The 
provisions of La. R.S. 22:1568(8) are applicable to all issuers of group health insurance 
policies and to all health insurance producers (producers) engaged in the solicitation, 
negotiation, and sale of group health insurance products. The provisions of Act 283 do 
not apply to limited benefit or excepted benefit products, or political subdivisions 
meeting the criteria set forth in La. R.S. 22: 1568(C). 

Commission Schedules 

La. R.S 22: 1568(A) requires issuers to establish one or more schedules of 
commission for the sale of each health insurance product. The schedules of 
commission must be uniformly applied to all producers within the same schedule for the 
particular health insurance product and shall be payable to all producers licensed and 
appointed to sell the health insurance products of the issuer. La. R.S. 22: 1568(A) does 
not prohibit an issuer from using a tiered or graduated commission scale within an 
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established schedule. For example, if an issuer calculates a producer's commission as 
a percentage of paid premium, the commission schedule may include different tiers or 
be graduated whereby the amount of commission is adjusted as the amount of paid 
premium increases (e.g. 4% on the first 500k, 2% on the next 500k, etc.) or 
commissions paid as a dollar amount per enrolled subscriber per month may be 
adjusted by the number of enrolled subscribers (e.g. 4-15 enrolled subscribers- $34.00, 
16-25 enrolled subscribers - $27.00, etc.) as long as such calculations are applied 
uniformly to all producers that fall within a particular tier of the commission schedule. 

La. R.S. 22: 1568(A) does not prohibit a producer from receiving additional 
compensation from an issuer in the form of incentive compensation, including awards 
and bonuses based on factors that typically include the total sales volume, growth, 
profitability, and the retention of business placed by the producer. However, any 
incentive payment made to a producer shall not affect the premium (inclusive of the 
scheduled commission as established by the issuer pursuant to 22:1568(A)) paid by the 
insured for the insurance. Incentive compensation shall be paid only to a producer if the 
performance criteria established in the producer-issuer agreement is actually met by the 
producer or the business entity with which the producer is affiliated. 

Fees Charged in Addition to a Health Insurance Producer's Commission 

La. R.S. 22: 1568(8) authorizes a health insurance producer to negotiate a charge, 
fee or any other form of compensation directly with a plan sponsor or employer group. 
Historically, these negotiated fees and fee agreements in the sale of insurance 
contracts have been closely scrutinized by the LDI and are generally prohibited by the 
Louisiana Insurance Code (Code) unless specifically permitted by statute because they 
can create legal and regulatory issues including but not limited to undisclosed premium, 
rebating, and unfair discrimination in the rate and premium charged to the insured. 

As detailed in prior LDI guidance 1, the Code broadly defines "premium" to mean "all 
sums charged, received, or deposited as consideration for the purchase or continuance 
of insurance for a definitely stated term ... . " This comprehensive definition is an integral 
factor in the LDI's determination whether a fee charged by a producer or the related fee 
agreement violates any provisions of the Code including but not limited to provisions 
regarding rebating, non-disclosure of premium or unfair discrimination in the rate or 
amount of premium charged to the insured. Further, the Code prohibits a producer from 
charging or receiving any fee, compensation, or consideration charged for insurance or 
the procurement thereof, that is not included in the premium quoted to the insured and 
the premium specified in the policy delivered to the insured unless expressly permitted 
by statute. 

1 
Advisory Letter 2010-01 ; Advisory Letter 2012-03. 
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La. R.S. 22:855(B)(2)(a) provides one such exception by authorizing a producer to 
charge a reasonable agency fee directly related to the services provided by the 
producer. Prior to Act 283, health and accident policies were exempt from the provisions 
of La. R.S. 22:855, and a producer was prohibited from charging an agency fee on such 
policies. By Act 283's amendment of La. R.S. 22:855(B)(2)(a) and the enactment of La. 
R.S. 22: 1568(8) a health insurance producer may negotiate a charge, fee, or any other 
form of compensation directly with a plan sponsor or employer group for major medical 
coverage. By enacting La. R.S. 22: 1568(B) and amending La. R.S. 22:855, it is evident 
that a primary objective of Act 283 was to authorize a health insurance producer to 
negotiate an agency fee directly with the plan sponsor or employer group to 
compensate the producer for rendering services related to a group health insurance 
contract. Therefore, in addition to any compensation a producer is entitled to receive 
based on the commission schedules established pursuant La. R.S. 22: 1568(A) or any 
incentive compensation that does not affect the premium paid by the insured, a health 
insurance producer may directly negotiate and charge a reasonable agency fee with a 
plan sponsor or employer group without the agency fee constituting premium. 

Invoicing Fees Negotiated Pursuant to R.S. 22: 1568(B) 

A question has arisen regarding the proper invoicing and collection of agency fees 
negotiated between a producer and a plan sponsor or employer group, specifically, 
whether an issuer may directly invoice and collect the producer's negotiated agency fee 
from the plan sponsor or employer group and subsequently remit the agency fee to the 
producer. Under such an arrangement, the issuer would essentially provide a billing and 
collection service for the producer with respect to the separately negotiated agency fee. 
In pertinent part, La. R.S. 22:855(B) which governs the authorization to charge an 
agency fee and its means of disclosure provides that: 

B. (1) No insurer or ... producer ... shall charge or receive any fee ... which is 
not included in the premium quoted to the insured and the premium 
specified in the policy delivered to the insured ... except for 
reimbursement for expenses due the producer, and except for an 
agency fee, if any, as authorized hereunder. 

(2)(a) The producer may receive reimbursement from the insured for 
expenses incurred by the producer directly related to the insurance 
coverage for the insured. In addition, the producer may charge a 
reasonable agency fee related to the services provided by the producer. 
Any reimbursement or agency fee shall be itemized separately on an 
invoice statement. A single invoice may be used to make known all 
charges. Each such charge must be prominently disclosed and itemized 
separately on the invoice. 
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The purpose of La. R.S. 22:855(B) is clear. Since the agency fee is charged in 
excess of the premium and retained solely for the producer's benefit either to defray 
costs or compensate the producer for services related to the policy, it should not be 
disclosed or collected in a manner that incorporates the agency fee into the premium or 
otherwise obscures the producer's agency fee. An issuer that elects to invoice and 
collect an agency fee on behalf of a producer shall do so only pursuant to a written 
agreement with the producer which demonstrates that the plan sponsor or employer 
group has agreed to the payment of the agency fee, the producer has authorized the 
issuer to collect the agency fee, and the agreement specifies the amount to be 
collected. 

Additionally, while the collection of an agency fee by the issuer is not prohibited, it 
could create some legal and regulatory compliance issues. A potential issue presented 
by this billing and collection method is an issuer's right to cancel a health insurance 
policy for nonpayment of premium. Since an agency fee is "not considered premium for 
any purpose, " the issuer is prohibited from using the insured's failure to remit any 
portion of the invoice constituting the agency fee as a basis to cancel the policy for 
nonpayment of premium. 

Net of Commissions Quotes 

Nothing provided for in Act 283 supersedes or amends prior statutory law or LDI 
guidance regarding the prohibition on "net of commission" quotes except for the specific 
exemption given to political subdivisions meeting certain criteria pursuant to La. R.S. 
22:1568(C). 

Questions regarding Advisory Letter No. 2014-01 should be directed to Barry Ward, 
Esq., Deputy Commissioner, Office of Licensing and Compliance, at (225) 342-0814. 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, this 2nd day of May 2014. 


