

# Becoming a LICENSED PRODUCER





Louisiana Department of Insurance Jim Donelon, Commissioner



### A Message from Commissioner of Insurance Jim Donelon

Thank you for your interest in insurance licensing. Whether you are thinking of becoming a licensed insurance professional, have already been licensed with the Department or are just interested in learning more about how to get a license, I hope you find this overview of the licensing process helpful.

I am proud of the highly dedicated men and women who are currently licensed with the Department of Insurance, and we are always pleased to have other motivated people join them.

One of my chief goals here at the Department of Insurance is to continue to refine the licensing process to better and more efficiently meet the needs of the people we license and the public they serve.

If you have additional questions or comments about insurance licensing in Louisiana, call us toll-free at 1-800-259-5300 or visit our website at www.ldi.la.gov.

#### May 2013

This guide is an online resource provided by the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

# **Types of Licenses**

The Louisiana Department of Insurance issues the following licenses. Each is valid only for the line(s) of authority shown on the license.

- A **producer** license: This license is issued to individuals or business entities authorized to transact business, as well as to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance on behalf of an insurer authorized to do business in Louisiana.
- A surplus lines broker license: This license is issued to individuals or business entities who solicit, sell or negotiate with insurance companies that are not licensed, but are approved to do business in Louisiana.

### Licensing Requirements

#### Resident Requirements

To hold a license, a Louisiana resident must:

• Be at least 18 years of age;



- Be competent and trustworthy;
- Reside in or maintain a principal place of business in Louisiana;
- Complete a prelicensing education program and pass an examination (when required);
- Complete a three month apprenticeship with a licensed producer (Bail Bond applicants only);
- Submit the appropriate forms and fees;
- Be fingerprinted;
- Be able to provide any and all documentation reasonably necessary to verify information in your application;
- Report any convictions of a felony, and when applicable, acquire 18 USC 1033 written consent by the Commissioner of Insurance.

#### Nonresident Individual License Requirements

If you are not a resident of Louisiana, you must comply with the following requirements for a nonresident producer license for Life, Health and Accident, or Property and Casualty:

- Be at least 18 years of age;
- Be in compliance with continuing education requirements in the resident state;
- Submit an application and appropriate fee online via the National Insurance Producer Registry's (NIPR) website at www.nipr.com.

#### **Business Entities as Agencies**

Business entities must be licensed in order to transact insurance business and/or to receive commissions. All firm applicants must submit an online application and appropriate fee online via the National Insurance Producer Registry's (NIPR) website. At the time of application, at least one of the firm's officers, partners or employees must hold a license for the same line of authority applied for by the applicant.

#### Prelicensing Education Requirements

Prelicensing education and testing requirements help ensure a minimum level of knowledge about the products and services that producers offer to the public. In addition, license candidates must understand and comply with the laws and rules that govern insurance. You must complete the following prelicensing course requirements before taking the corresponding licensing exam.

Line(s) of Insurance	Course Hours
Life, Health and Accident	
Life	
Health and Accident	
Property and Casualty	40
Property	
Casualty	
Personal Lines	
Bail Bonds	

To obtain a list of prelicensing schools, visit our website. No prelicensing education is required for an individual applying for an insurance producer license for the lines of industrial fire, surplus lines, title insurance or limited life, health and accident, surety, credit, variable life and variable annuity, travel or specialty limited lines credit insurance.

## What to do now ?

Now that you have an understanding of the types of producer licenses available and the general requirements, the next step is taking any necessary examinations.

Some licenses do not require an examination. When applying for a license that does not require an exam, submit an online application and the appropriate fees online via the National Insurance Producer Registry's (NIPR) website. Fees for the different types of licenses vary.

#### Licenses Requiring an Exam

Registering for your exam consists of three major steps: application, registration and scheduling. Applications are submitted electronically. The online application is available at www.sircon.com, and will automatically upload to Prometric. Within 24 hours of submitting your application, you can register for and schedule your license examination and fingerprinting appointment on Prometric's website www.prometric.com/louisiana. Below is a list of the lines of authority which require an exam, along with their license and exam fees.

License Line	<u>Type</u>	<u>License Fee</u>	<u>Exam Fee</u>
Life, Health and Accident	Producer	\$75	\$65
Life	Producer	\$75	\$50
Health and Accident	Producer	\$75	\$50
Property and Casualty	Producer	\$75	\$65
Property	Producer	\$75	\$50
Casualty	Producer	\$75	\$50
Personal Lines	Producer	\$75	\$50
Bail Bond	Producer	\$75	\$50
Title	Producer	\$75	\$50
Surety	Producer	\$75	\$50
Surplus Lines	Broker	\$250	\$50
Remember: Fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable.			

**Surplus Lines Broker License:** As a prerequisite for this type of license, a resident applicant must hold a property and casualty license for at least two years, or have two years of professional experience as an employee with a property and casualty insurer. For a firm to obtain a Surplus Lines license, all affiliates, officers and employees placing business must be licensed as Surplus Lines brokers and hold countersigning authority from a Surplus Lines insurer.

# Scheduling the Exams

Prometric of Windsor Mills, Maryland, administers the examination program. The Louisiana area Prometric testing centers are located in:

- Alexandria
- Baton Rouge
- New Orleans
- Bossier City
- Lake Charles

Prometric works closely with the Louisiana Department of Insurance and its examination review committee to assure that exams meet local requirements and test development standards. All questions and requests for information about exams should be directed to:

Prometric 3110 Lord Baltimore Dr., Ste. 200 Windsor Mills, MD 21207 Fax: 800-347-9242 TDD User: 800-790-3926 Voice: 800-871-6457

Once Prometric has received your application, 24 hours after submission on www.sircon.com, you may schedule your examination time and place by calling 800-871-6457 between the hours of 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. central time, or use the Internet registration and scheduling service at www.prometric.com.

A pre-licensing certificate remains valid for 365 days. An exam registration remains valid for 90 days after Prometric has processed it. A license application is valid for one year after submission. Registrations and applications then automatically expire. To reapply, new applications are required, together with applicable exam and license fees.

#### Studying for the Exam

The exam for each type of license consists of questions that test knowledge of relevant areas listed in the content outline for that exam. These Examination Content Outlines are developed in coordination with the Department of Insurance and an examination review committee from the Louisiana insurance industry in order to identify and classify the level of knowledge that insurance licensees need to properly serve their clients.

Prometric's item development staff and insurance professionals research and write questions that are submitted to industry professionals in Louisiana for review and approval. Our industry professionals first identify the important areas of knowledge and then confirm that the questions reflect those areas. This process assures that the exam reflects the content that an entry-level producer must know to serve the public.

The Examination Content Outlines can be found in the Louisiana Department of Insurance Licensing Information Bulletin. The content outlines are updated periodically and may not be consistent with outdated study material in study manuals. Where discrepancies exist, the outlines take precedence.

In addition to the required prelicensing instruction, other useful study materials may be obtained from insurance companies, the company or agency for which you plan to work, or from an insurance agent association. However, neither Prometric nor the Louisiana Department of Insurance is able to provide listings or recommendations of study materials or study manuals.

The exams contain sections on Louisiana insurance laws. In addition to basic study material, it is beneficial to consult a standard statute reference, which is available at any public or law library.

For question format examples and details regarding understanding your exam results, please refer to the Louisiana Department of Insurance Licensing Information Bulletin.

#### After Passing the Examination

After you have passed the examination, Prometric submits your test sheet information to the Department of Insurance, who verifies receipt and approval of your fingerprint reports and issues the license. Prometric will then mail the license card to your mailing address.

### Keeping your license

#### **Duration and Renewal of License**

All licenses expire on the last day of your birth month every other year, regardless of issue date.

The following licenses renew every even-numbered year:

- Life
- Health and Accident
- Limited Life, Health and Accident
- Variable
- Credit
- Travel

The following licenses renew every odd-numbered year:

- Property
- Casualty
- Personal Lines
- Title
- Industrial Fire
- Surety
- Bail Bonds
- Surplus Lines

All licensees will be given two months to renew their license. Renewals will be available online from our website the month prior to - and the month of - your birthday. Click on "Producer/Adjuster Portal Login" on the main page of the Department website to begin renewing online. The renewal fee is \$50 and is payable online via the portal.

Renewal reminders will be sent via email, so it is important that email addresses are kept current. Physical and email address changes can be made quickly, easily and free of charge by accessing your Producer/Adjuster Portal page on the Department website.

A new license card is not issued upon renewal. However, a renewal certificate may be downloaded free of charge from our website by logging into the Producer/Adjuster Portal.

For those lines of authority requiring continuing education (CE), the CE is required for your second renewal and each renewal thereafter.

#### Reinstatement of License

A license can be reinstated for up to five years after the date on which it expired, provided you meet all necessary requirements. Reinstatement applications are now available online from our website by logging into the Producer/Adjuster Portal.

Reinstatement fees are \$100. This includes the \$50 renewal fee plus a \$50 reinstatement fee.

#### **Continuing Education**

All Louisiana resident producers must meet continuing education (CE) requirements with the exception of those holding Industrial Fire, Surety or licenses for lines of authority that require no examination. Any new licensee issued a license within the two years preceding renewal of the license is not required to meet CE requirements for the renewal period only. Refer to the following table for course hour requirements of specific licenses.

Line of Insurance	Minimum Hours Every Two Years
Property & Casualty	24 hrs, including 3 ethics and 3 flood hrs
Personal Lines	24 hrs, including 3 ethics and 3 flood hrs
Life, Health & Accident	24 hrs, including 3 ethics hrs
Both P&C and	
Life, Health & Accident	24 hrs, including 3 ethics and 3 flood hrs
Bail Bond	12 hrs
Title	6 hrs

You may use up to 10 hours of Property & Casualty and Life, Health & Accident carry over hours to renew the applicable license. Carry over hours must be earned during the previous renewal period. The ethics and flood hour requirements must be met within the current renewal period. Flood or ethics hours obtained during the previous renewal period will carry over as general hours.

### Additional licensing info

#### Nonresident licensees relocating to LA

If you move to Louisiana and wish to apply for a **resident** license, you must submit Form 1546A and fees along with a Letter of Clearance to the Louisiana Department of Insurance from your previous home state. In Louisiana, anyone applying for an insurance producer license who was previously licensed for the same lines of authority in another state is not required to complete any prelicensing education or take an examination.

This exemption is available if:

- Applicant is currently licensed in previous home state.
- Application is received within 90 days of cancellation of applicant's previous license.
- Applicant was in good standing in applicant's previous home state or in the state's producer database records maintained by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), its affiliates or subsidiarie:

For proper application and licensing fees, contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance at 800-259-5300 or email the Department from our website. Mail the application with the appropriate fees to the following address:

> Producer Licensing Division Louisiana Department of Insurance P.O. Box 94214 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214

#### **Appointments**

To obtain additional appointments, each company must submit an appointment request and pay a \$20 fee online via the National Insurance Producer Registry's (NIPR) website.

#### **Additional Questions**

All questions and requests for information about examinations should be directed to:

Prometric 3110 Lord Baltimore Drive, Ste. 200 Windsor Mills, MD 21207 Fax: 800-347-9242 TDD User: 800-790-3926 Voice: 800-871-6457

Questions about licenses not requiring an exam should be directed to:

Louisiana Department of Insurance P.O. Box 94214 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214 225-342-0860 www.ldi.la.gov

#### **Examination Process Summary**

- Prepare for the exam by using the Examination Content Outlines available through the Department of Insurance and study materials covering the outline topics.
- Read and understand the licensing application and exam registration procedures.
- Submit your license application and pay the licensing fee online at www.sircon.com.
- Call Prometric to schedule your examination or register and schedule your exam online at www.prometric.com.
- Take the exam on your scheduled day. Be sure to bring to the examination all proper forms of identification and prelicensing education certificates.