June 18, 2015

Insurance Commissioner Donelon Requests Extension of FEMA Deadline to File Flood Claims

Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon is asking the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to extend its deadline for Louisiana homeowners impacted by recent flooding. FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) requires homeowners to file a Proof of Loss form to claim damages within 60 days of a flood.

“A Proof of Loss form is required before any policyholder will receive payment but filing that form within 60 days can be a real challenge for homeowners and businesses who’ve been victims of catastrophic flooding,” said Commissioner Donelon. “Following Hurricane Isaac in 2012, which caused extensive damage in Plaquemines and St. John the Baptist parishes, we heard from many homeowners who needed more time to collect vital information after floodwaters destroyed their homes. FEMA authorized four extensions to its initial 60-day filing deadline, increasing policyholders’ time to file to 240 days from the time of their loss. I am asking for FEMA to grant a similar courtesy to homeowners in northwestern and central Louisiana. ”

Flood damage resulting from heavy rain or storm surge is excluded under standard homeowners policies. Flood coverage can be obtained from the NFIP, but it must be obtained before a flood event and typically there is a 30-day waiting period before a flood insurance policy becomes effective.

Those needing to file a claim as a result of the recent flooding are urged to contact their agent or call the NFIP Claims Call Center at 1-800-621-3362. After you have filed your claim, an adjuster will contact you and will need evidence of the damage to your home and possessions to adjust your claim. Policyholders are advised to document damaged property by taking photographs and making a list of damaged items. Your adjuster will provide you a Proof of Loss form for your official claim for damages. This document substantiates the insurance claim and is required before the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) or insurance company will make payment.

To read Commissioner Donelon’s letter requesting an extension of the deadline for Proof of Loss forms, please click here.

About the Louisiana Department of Insurance: The Louisiana Department of Insurance works to improve competition in the state’s insurance market while assisting individuals and businesses with the information and resources they need to be informed consumers of insurance. As a regulator, the LDI enforces the laws that provide a fair and stable marketplace and makes certain that insurers comply with the laws in place to protect policyholders. You can contact the LDI by calling 1-800-259-5300 or visiting