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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998).

84707. Cancellation Standards

A. The following standards shall govern the
requirements for the cancellation provisions of vehicle
mechanical breakdown contracts.

1. All Mechanical Breakdown Insurance contracts
having terms of greater than six months shall be cancelable
and refundable upon request of the insured.

2. The refund method to be used shall be the sum of
the digits (Rule of 78s) or a refund method that will be more
favorable to the insured.

3. The return factor is determined by the number of
unused months or the number of unused miles, and shall be
based on the full premium (including commissions) paid by
the insured.

a.  The number of months shall mean the number of
months from the effective date of the policy until the
expiration date of the policy.

b.  The number of miles shall mean the sum of the
number of miles on the odometer at the time of purchase and
the policy mileage limit.

4. A cancellation fee, not to exceed $50, may be
charged, provided such fee is disclosed to the purchaser at
the time of policy purchase.

5. The method of refund and any cancellation fee,
shall be fully disclosed to the insured at or before the time of
policy purchase by having such information printed in the
policy form and the policy application, which shall be
agreed to in writing, by the insured.

6. In calculating any refund requested by the insured,
no deduction shall be allowed for any claim that has been
paid under the contract being canceled.

7. If cancellation is requested in writing by the insured
within 30 days from the date of purchase, full refund, minus
the cancellation fee, if any, shall be made.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998).

84709. Failure to Comply

A. In addition to any other penalties provided by the
Louisiana Insurance Code relating to the regulation of
Vehicle Mechanical Breakdown (VMB) insurers, any VMB
insurer found to have violated the requirements of this
regulation, may be issued a cease and desist order pursuant
to R.S. 22:1810.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998).
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84711. Severability

A. If any provision of item of this regulation, or the
application thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not
affect other provisions, items, or applications of the
regulation which can be given effect without the invalid
provisions, item, or application.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998),
amended by Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution
Number 135 of the 2001 Regular Session, LR 27:1102 (July 2001).

84713. Effective Date
A. This regulation shall take effect on June 20, 1998.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998).

Chapter 49. Regulation 65—Bail
Bond Licensing Requirements/Bounty
Hunter

84901. Purpose

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish
guidelines for licensing, for transacting an apprehension or
surrender of a principal, prelicensing for applicants and
continuing education for licensed agents or solicitors, bail
bonds, fines and hearings, definitions and related matters.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:706 (April 1999).

§4903. Definitions

A. The following terms when used in this Chapter shall
have the following meanings.

Bail Bond Agent—a person, corporation, or partnership
which holds an insurance agent or solicitor license and who
is authorized to provide surety in Louisiana, and/or engages
in the apprehension and return of persons who are released
on bail or who failed to appear at any state of the
proceedings to answer the charge before the court in which
they may be prosecuted. For purposes of this regulation a
bail recovery agent is synonymous with a bail bond agent.

Bail Enforcement—the apprehension or surrender of a
principal by a natural person who is released on bail or who
has failed to appear at any state of the proceedings to answer
the charge before the court in which he may be prosecuted.

Bail Solicitor—an individual who holds an insurance
license and is authorized by a duly licensed bail bond agent
to solicit contracts of bail bond insurance and engages in bail
enforcement, solely on behalf of the licensed bail bond
agent.
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Commissioner—the  Louisiana  Commissioner  of

Insurance.
Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

Insurer—any domestic or foreign insurance corporation
or association engaged in the business of insurance or
suretyship which has qualified to transact surety or casualty
business in this state.

Surrender—as defined by the L.A.-CCRP Article 345.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999).

84905. Bail Recovery Agent License Requirements for
Louisiana

A. In order to engage, to transact, or assist in the
apprehension or surrender of a principal, a person must be a
duly licensed bail bond agent or solicitor, pursuant to Part
XXI1V and Part XXV-A of the Louisiana Insurance Code.

1. Prelicensing

a. On and after May 1, 1999, all persons applying
for a bail bond agent or solicitor license must complete eight
hours of supervised instruction approved by the department,
four hours of which, must be instruction in bail enforcement.

2. Continuing Education Program

a. Persons holding a valid bail bond agent or
solicitor license must complete 12 hours of a continuing
education program, approved by the department, every two-
year licensing period, four hours of which must be
instruction in bail enforcement. On or before January 1 of
every odd numbered year, all duly licensed bail bond agents
hall have completed 12 hours of continuing education
described in this Section.

3. On and after May 1, 2000, no person shall engage
in the bail bond insurance business, including enforcement
and bail recovery activities, unless such person is duly
licensed bail bond agent or solicitor pursuant to Part XXIV
and Part XXV-A of the Louisiana Insurance Code.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999).

84907. Bail Recovery Persons License Requirement
from Other States

A. Bail recovery persons from other states must be duly
authorized to transact bail enforcement or be a licensed bail
bond agent in the state where the bond was written and shall
act in association with a local bail agent duly licensed by the
Louisiana Department of Insurance to transact bail
enforcement in this state.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999).

84909. Out of State Bail Enforcement Procedure and
Notification Requirements

A. In order for a bail recovery person from another state
to transact a surrender or apprehension of a principal in
Louisiana, the following shall be done.

1. Before conducting surrender or apprehension of a
principal, the bail recovery person(s) from other states shall
notify the local law enforcement.

2. Bail recovery persons from other states must have
in their possession certified copies of material needed to
identify the principal. Said materials shall be:

a. a judgement of bond forfeiture or court order of
failure to appear and/or certified copy of bond and/or the
agent's duly executed copy of the contract;

b. aphotograph of the principal; and

c. documentation reflecting that person is duly
authorized to transact bail enforcement by the state where
the bond was written.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999).

84911. In State Bail Enforcement Procedure and
Notification Requirement

A. In order to transact a surrender or apprehension of a
principal, the following shall be done.

1. Before conducting a surrender or apprehension of a
principal, the bail bond agent or solicitor shall notify the
local law enforcement in the parish or city where the
principal is sought unless exigent circumstances exist.

2. The bail bond agent or solicitor shall be required to
wear identifying clothing before transacting a surrender or
an apprehension in a private residence.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999).

84913. Prohibited Acts

A. No licensed bail agent or solicitor shall improperly
withhold, misappropriate, fail to timely remit premiums and
reports of bonds written, or convert to one's own use any
monies belonging to principals, sureties and underwriters, or
others possessed in the course of the business of insurance.

B. No licensed bail agent or solicitor shall perform bail
enforcement in pursuit of any principal released on bail for
nonpayment of premium. The surrender of a principal in
violation of this Subsection shall entitle the principal to the
return of any premium paid.
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C. No licensed bail agent or solicitor shall remove or
have removed any bail bond power of attorney from the
clerk of court or sheriff.

D. No licensed bail agent or solicitor shall transact or
engage in the surrender or apprehension of a principal with
the assistance of an unlicensed person.

E. No commercial surety shall fail to timely pay bond
forfeiture claims that meet the requirements of R.S.
22:658.1.A.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:708 (April 1999).

84915. Enforcement of Regulation

A. The commissioner is vested with the authority to
enforce this regulation. The department may conduct
investigations or request other state, parish or local officials
to conduct investigations.

B.1. Violations of this Section are governed by Part
XXIV  (Qualification and License Requirements for
Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and
Solicitors) and XXVI (Unfair Trade Practices) of the
Louisiana Insurance Code.

2. The commissioner shall impose penalties, sanctions
or fines as delineated in Part XXIV and XXVI of the
Louisiana Insurance Code. The commissioner may seek
contained herein that results in a public harm.

C. The commissioner may promulgate such rules and
regulations as may be deemed necessary for the enforcement
of this regulation. The department shall impose penalties,
sanctions or fines as delineated in the Louisiana Insurance
Code and collect such fines as necessary for the enforcement
of such rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:708 (April 1999).

84917. Effective Date

A. This regulation shall become effective on final
publication in the April 1999 Louisiana Register.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:3, 22:7, 22:10, 22:658.1, 22:1065.1, 22:1113, 22:1404.3,
22:1191(B), 22:1211, and 22:1214.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:708 (April 1999).

Chapter 51. Regulation
66—Requirements for Officers,
Directors, and Trustees of Domestic
Regulated Entities
§5101. Purpose

A. The purpose of this regulation is to require that
officers, directors and trustees of domestic regulated entities,
as defined herein, file biographical information with the

Commissioner of Insurance for review. The purpose of this
review is to determine whether a domestic regulated entity
continues to meet minimum licensing standards upon a
change in officers, directors or trustees.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
(L.R.S.) Title 22, Sections 3, 1770, 1811, 1911, 1942, 2014,
3017(B), 1348(B) 1358(B); Title 23, Section 1200.1 and Title 33,
Sections 1348(B) and 1358(B).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:78 (January 1999).

§5103. Definitions

A. For the purpose of this regulation the following
definitions shall be applicable.

Director—persons designated in the articles of
incorporation, by-laws or other organizational documents as
such, and persons designated, elected or appointed by any
other name or title to act as directors, and their successors.

Domestic Regulated Entity—any Louisiana domiciled
entity which is required to obtain a license or certificate of
authority from or register with the commissioner. This
definition shall specifically include, but is not limited to,
stock and mutual insurers, domestic service insurers, non-
profit funeral service associations, reciprocal insurers,
Lloyd's plans, fraternal benefit societies, automobile service
clubs, vehicle mechanical breakdown insurers, property
residual value insurers, animal insurers, health maintenance
organizations, non-profit beneficiary organizations and risk
indemnification trusts, third party administrators, interlocal
risk management agencies or any plan of self insurance
providing health and accident or workers compensation
coverage to employees of two or more employers.

a. This term shall not include insurance agents,
agencies, managing general agents, viatical settlement
brokers or reinsurance intermediary brokers.

Officer—a president, vice-president, treasurer, actuary,
secretary, controller, partner and any other person who
performs for the domestic regulated entity functions
corresponding to those performed by the foregoing officers.
Officer shall also include the administrator of a plan of self-
insurance providing health and accident or worker
compensation coverage to employees of two or more
employers.

Trustee—the trustee of a trust, which provides health
and accident or workers compensation coverage to
employees of two or more employers.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
(L.R.S.) Title 22, Sections 3, 1770, 1811, 1911, 1942, 2014,
3017(B), 1348(B) 1358(B); Title 23, Section 1200.1 and Title 33,
Sections 1348(B) and 1358(B).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:78 (January 1999).

85105. Review of Officers, Directors and Trustees by
Commissioner Required

A. No person shall serve as an officer, director or trustee
of a domestic insurer who has not first submitted the
information required by 85107 to the commissioner or to
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