Don’t try to pay for your medical costs. They
should be paid by your company’s workers’
compensation insurance policy. If you miss
more than seven days of work and are found
eligible, you will receive compensation for
your wages.

Do

Do remember most employees in Louisiana
are covered from the day they start
employment. “Employees” may be full or part-
time, seasonal or minors. Sub-contractors
may be considered “employees” if they are
involved in the pursuit of the employer’s
trade, business or occupation. The law does
contain some limited exemptions.

Don’t

Don’t forget that workers’ compensation
insurance also provides benefits to
dependents of workers who die after work-
related accidents.

Do remember that the law covers both
mental and physical harm from either
workplace accidents or occupational
diseases. However, mental injury must be
the result of a physical injury or of a sudden,
unexpected, and extraordinary stress related
to employment. In either case, this must be
proven based on the evidence.

Don’t

Don’t worry if you do not immediately receive
a check from the workers’ compensation
insurer. There is a seven-day waiting period
between the time you file your claim and
receive your check. However, if you are off
work more than 42 calendar days, you will
receive compensation for the first seven days
after the date of injury.

Do

Do check to see if your injury or illness is
covered. If it is, you should receive a check
from the workers’ compensation insurer or
from your own self-insured employer within
14 days after the injury.

Don’t

Don’t settle your claim unless you are
completely satisfied with the settlement. You
may enter into a lump sum or compromise
settlement upon agreement of all the
parties and with the approval of a Workers’
Compensation judge.

Do

Do reach out for help:

The Office of Workers’ Compensation
(225) 342-7555, www.owca@lwc.la.gov.

The Louisiana Department of
Insurance,1-800-259-5300, www.ldi.la.gov
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Do

Do seek first aid and medical attention.
Remember that delays can affect not only
your health but also possible workers’
compensation benefits.

Don’t

Don’t wait several days or even hours to
report your claim.

Do

Do report your accident or ailmentimmediately
to your supervisor if you are hurt at work or
become ill (because of what you think is a
work-related exposure). Generally, you must
report the injury within 30 days to be eligible
for benefits.

Don’t

Don’t report the injury to the health insurance
company or workers’ compensation insurer,
report the injury to your employer.

Do

Do make sure your employer reports the
injury to its workers’ compensation insurance
company, or internal claims office if the
employer is self-insured, and to the Office
of Workers’ Compensation.

Don’t

Don’t feel that just because the injury was
not your company’s fault it is not covered
by workers’ compensation. Workers’
compensation insurance provides medical
care, death benéefits, disability payments and
rehabilitation. It covers job-related injuries
regardless of fault.

Do

Do know that no compensation will be given
if an injury was caused by an employee’s
willful intention to injure himself or another
employee; by an employee’s deliberate
failure to use adequate protection that was
provided to him; or by an injured employee’s
intoxication at the time of the injury, unless
the intoxication results from activities in which
the employer procured and encouraged the
use of an alcoholic beverage.

Don’t

Don’t assume you are covered under
workers’ compensation. The law does
contain some limited exemptions. Domestic
employees; most real estate salespersons;
uncompensated officers and directors of
certain non- profit organizations; and public
officials are specifically exempted. Most
volunteer workers are not entitled to benefits.

Do

Do remember that if you are the aggressor
in an unprovoked fight you may not be
entitled to benefits. This may also apply if it
is determined that you were a participant in
“horseplay” at the time of your work related

injury.

Don’t

Don’t forget that claims for medical benefits
generally must be filed within one year of
the date of the work place accident causing
the injury. However, if your employer or its
workers’ compensation insurer has paid
medical expenses, the period for a claim
is extended to three years from the last
payment of a medical benefit.

Do

Do make sure you have prior approval from
your employer, or its workers’ compensation
insurer for any cost above a total of $750 per
provider, for any doctor in a specialized field
of medicine. This limit applies to doctors,
hospital services, prescriptions, physical
therapy, laboratory tests, etc...

Don’t forget to turn in an examination by a
physician if it is required by your employer.
Failure to submit any reasonable examination
may cause your compensation payments to
be suspended until an examination takes
place.

Do

Do check to see if you are eligible for any
additional compensation for permanent
disability, such as the loss of an arm or leg.
This is usually determined after you return
to work or the healing period ends.



